Natasha Trethewey

NATASHA TRETHEWEY, our new U.S. Poet Laureate, writes poems of intense and unflinching interiority.  She examines the inner workings of her own consciousness and feelings with a steady, patient, inquisitive mind.  But for Trethewey, the private, interior life is peopled by history, both familial and communal, and history is personal.  Because of anti-miscegination laws her parents, a mixed-race couple, had to leave their native Mississippi to wed.  This made Natasha, born a year later, an illegal child.  Trethewey received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for her 2006 collection of poetry, Native Guard.  Her other collections include Bellocq’s Ophelia (2002) and Domestic Work (2000), selected by Rita Dove as the winner of the inaugural Cave Canem Poetry Prize for the best first book by an African American poet and which also won both the 2001 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Book Prize and the 2001 Lillian Smith Award for Poetry.

Visit her page on the Poetry Foundation website here

Click here to read our blog about Natasha Trethewey. 



Richard Blanco, Eavan Boland, Henri Cole, Sharon Dolin, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes, Juan Felipe Herrera, Jane Hirshfield, Fanny Howe, Kurtis Lamkin, Dorianne Laux, Ada Limón, Thomas Lux, Rachel McKibbens, Taylor Mali, Joseph Millar, Idra Novey, Gregory Orr, Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Patricia Smith, Arthur Sze, Larissa Szporluk, Natasha Trethewey, C.K. Williams, Raúl Zurita
Prudential Hall


Festival Poet Readings
Richard Blanco, Kurtis Lamkin, Dorianne Laux, Ada Limón, Natasha Trethewey
Prudential Hall

Poets on Poetry
Natasha Trethewey
First Peddie Baptist Memorial Church


Conversation: A Voice for the Voiceless
Philip Levine, Juan Felipe Herrera, Natasha Trethewey, Raúl Zurita
Prudential Hall 

Conversation: In the Path of the Storm
Patricia Smith, Natasha Trethewey
North Star Academy Gym


Giving Voice to Lucille Clifton
Nikky Finney, Natasha Trethewey, Clifton's Daughters
Chase Room

Readings & Music
Juan Felipe Herrera, Natasha Trethewey, Gregory Orr, Eavan Boland, Amiri Baraka, Philip Levine
Prudential Hall